2014 planning and archiving (part 2)

Hello!

Today I will carry on sharing what how I used my planner last year and also how I’ve archived the pages. This is the second part of a two part post, so if you haven’t already, you can read the first part here.

The dividers I used in my planner were the ones that came with the Filofax. They are the blue and green, 1-6 Filofax dividers. I used plain white masking tape to cover up the numbers and name the sections. The sections were:

Year overview, Months, Weeks, Lists, Contacts, and Finance

Weeks:

I started using my planner in August of 2014. I had watched lots of videos and discovered “washi tape”. Something that I had never heard of before then! So I bought some from some local hobby shops and attempted to make my pages look pretty. Was not so successful at it :p. Quickly realised that I would need thinner washi tape in my arsenal. Trying to cut thicker washi tape into thin strips was not easy for me to do and turned out looking messy.

WP_20150116_001

Another thing that I discovered was the spiraldex, and bullet journaling. 

WP_20150116_002

Both systems appealed to me and I couldn’t decide which one to use…so I used both :).

WP_20150116_003

This turned out to be very good because when school and work started I had a lot of “to do” things to write down. I also wanted to write down “events” or things that had happened that day. With a week on two page format, it is not a lot of room (for me) to write all those things down, as well as appointments. But with the spiraldex, I could shade in my time sensitive appointments and schedule, leaving the pages free for other notes and tasks.

WP_20150116_004

But as the weeks went on, some appointments landed on the pages. In particular, the appointments that were booked ahead of time. This is because I only made the spiraldex insert on the sunday before the following week started. Also, the spiraldex became more of a tracking device than a planning device. I found this very useful because I always feel like I don’t have enough time for things, but I also think that I don’t use my time wisely. This way I could track how much time I was spending on whatever it was. This also came in handy for getting paid, when I had to report how much time I spent on extra babysitting. I’m really terrible at remembering these things and with the spiraldex, I could just mark of what time I actually started and finished (which is sometimes different to the time that is agreed upon previously). So for example, on the planner page I will put down, babysit at 10:00 for 2 hours as that is what I would have been asked. On the spiraldex, it will indicate that i started at 10:30 and was there for 3 hours because the plans changed and that is what I actually ended up doing. 

Eventually I got tired of printing and cutting out the spiraldex. And since my tasks became fewer and my schedule started to settle, the space on the pages were enough. I also tried to incorporate colour coding to make some things stand out, like birthdays, and gigs, and extra working days. To track those extra working hours, I just wrote down the starting time, and when I finished, I wrote in the finishing time. 

WP_20150116_005

However, sometimes appointments get cancelled and I don’t like crossing things out. So I started using the page flags for forward planning and colour coding at the same time. A great solution as if the appointment gets cancelled, you just throw the page flag away :).

WP_20150116_006

Above you can see I got some new stamps and stickers that I tried out. Will have to practice using them better :p. The decorating skills hadn’t improved much…

Lists:

In the lists section I made to-do lists of “projects” that I had. For example, things that I needed to do for my research, or for handmade projects. I used the regular Filofax to do sheets that came with the binder.

Contacts:

I have a bad history with phones. They get lost, stolen, broken…it’s terrible. And every time it’s a drag to get back people’s numbers (I never get them all back). So I decided that I need a place at least to write down the most important phone numbers (family, boss, etc) incase my battery dies, or it gets lost/stolen/broken. 

Finance:

For obvious reasons I will not show you my finance pages. But what I did was use some filofax W2P inserts that I had from another binder to track my spending and income. I tried colour coding as well.

WP_20150116_007

Archiving:

As already mentioned in my previous post, I was looking around and hadn’t seen many different solutions for archiving planner pages that I felt I could use. I’m not a big Evernote user, and I didn’t like the look of the archiving binders that Filofax produces. I have seen, people using other Filofax binders to house their old pages, but I didn’t want to do that. I didn’t like the idea of one of my beloved Filofaxes sitting of the shelf, only holding pages and not really being used outside in the real world.

So in the meantime, I was making plans to make a desktop calendar as a christmas present for someone, and came across some rings. Single rings. At the same time, I was also starting to make fauxdori’s…bingo!!! I had an idea!!! 😀 I would use the remaining leather as a cover, punch holes in the proper places and use the rings to hold everything together!

But before I did that, I made a mistake on a felt fauxdori I was making. I had cut it too small. Lucky for me, it was the perfect size for the personal size inserts. So I got to make my archive…binder?…sooner that expected. I prepared to cut six holes but decided on two holes were actually needed. Here are the results:

                                                WP_20150116_008                WP_20150116_009

 

It’s a bit annoying sometimes to put in pages, but since i’m not in and out of it a lot, it’s fine for now. Perhaps if I can find the proper 6-ring mechanism I will use that instead. Just because it would be easier to open and close. Maybe a 30mm one :).

So that’s it folks! Hope you enjoyed my first “series”. Would love to hear about your set ups and how you’ve dealt with archiving previous planner pages.

‘Till next time,

P. 

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Lethbridge Paper

Crafter, planner and beauty addict

Steve Morton

A view of technology and some non-technical things.

Planning with Printed Portal

Making Life More Organised

The Organizeaholic

Necessity, hobby, or obsession?

Looking through a frosty window...

Seeing the world a little differently

My Life All in One Place

A place to share my love of stationery, performing arts, books, photography, and anything else that strikes my fancy! ;)

I'm British, So Filofax

Adventures in Trying to Organize My Life