Van der Spek Meet-up and my private factory tour!

Before I begin the main post, I would like to say that my posts for the next coming weeks will be even less frequent (if not non-existing) because I am two weeks away from my final Master exam!!!! But I had to get this post out on time before it became irrelevant :p. In anycase, I will try to maybe post a few “quick posts” when I can. 

A couple of months back, I had the great fortune to grab a spot for the Van der Spek meet-up! So Friday the 24th of April came around and I found myself waiting for a train to go and meet some old and new planner friends :).

WP_20150424_001

We all met each other at Vapiano restaurant in Rotterdam Blaak. I had a great time meeting new people, and reuniting with other people who I had met at the Gillio meet up  before. It was also a great pleasure to finally meet Petra!

WP_20150424_004 WP_20150424_002 WP_20150424_003 WP_20150424_005 WP_20150424_006 WP_20150424_007

However, once again I wasn’t able to make it to the “highlight” of the event which was to go and visit the factory, where all the magic happened on Saturday. I had to perform else where else. I did however, manage to finish my performance in time to meet them all for the final time at another restaurant. There I met even more people who had come to join the meet-up. Unfortunately I didn’t get to know them all as well as the people I met on the Friday because the table was very long! And although I wasn’t able to be at the factory, Petra very kindly brought the goody bag that was handed out the everyone at the factory! 🙂 I don’t have a picture of it but will try to make one and post it later on (maybe a candidate for a “quick post”).

But that’s not all! She also said that I was welcome to come anytime and she would show me around!!! So of course I took her up on her offer, and on Tuesday this week I went to visit the factory. When you first step in, you get hit by the smell of leather. I was in heaven!!!! 😀

Now, I’m not going to get into the details of how to make a planner as I would probably get it wrong. And also there is a video on the Van der Spek Fans facebook page where JP explains everything very nicely. So I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves.

WP_20150505_008 WP_20150505_009 WP_20150505_010 WP_20150505_011 WP_20150505_012 WP_20150505_013 WP_20150505_014 WP_20150505_015 WP_20150505_016 WP_20150505_017

I also got to see the new traveler's notebooks, and yes, they are divine!!!
I also got to see the new traveler’s notebooks, and yes, they are divine!!!

Last week Petra revealed the new Janet Leather colours. She had hoped that they would arrive for the meet-up but unfortunately they didn’t and we all just had to drool at the pictures. Of course, one of the first things that I wanted to do when I arrived there was see the leather in real life! It is beautiful leather. I can see why everyone goes crazy for it! 😀

WP_20150505_020 WP_20150505_021 WP_20150505_022

 

Well of course whilst I was there I made a custom order! But I will reveal the details of that another time…;) All I will say is that it’s going to be amazingly beautiful.

Well, that’s it for now. I had a wonderful time, both at the meet-up and at the factory this week. Petra, her family and the people who work there are just so kind. I’m so grateful that they took the time to show me around and explain things. I honestly can’t say anything negative about my Van der Spek experience so far :). I look forward to designing more planners for myself in the future (I can hear my bank account crying! lol). 

‘Till next time,

P

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Lethbridge Paper

Crafter, planner and beauty addict

Steve Morton

A view of technology and some non-technical things.

Planning with Printed Portal

Making Life More Organised

The Organizeaholic

Necessity, hobby, or obsession?

Looking through a frosty window...

Seeing the world a little differently

My Life All in One Place

A place to share my love of stationery, performing arts, books, photography, and anything else that strikes my fancy! ;)

I'm British, So Filofax

Adventures in Trying to Organize My Life